Harley Davidson BiketownWe traveled around Northeast Ohio for 5 days. We did a lot while we were there. We visited 3 different hospitals – Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital, Akron Children’s Hospital, and Aultman Hospital – and toured two NICUs. We also visited the Summit County Sheriff’s Office and Prosecutors Office. Everyone we met there was so nice. They let me drive around in a mini Sheriff’s patrol car and made me an honorary Sheriff for the day.

The sweetest part of the visit was a tour of the Harry London Chocolate Factory. We tasted chocolates as soon as they were made directly off the conveyor belt. Bob, our tour guide and VP of Marketing was so enthusiastic and new so much about the factory. He gave us all bags of chocolate treats to take home. Most of the chocolate did make it home, but we had to sample it on the way.

My dad really liked going to an event at the Harley Davidson in Mahoning Valley. They are big supporters of the March of Dimes. I sat on a big motorcycle. At first I was scared but then I had a lot of fun. I also met Parrot Heads. They made me an honorary member. I even got my own stuffed parrot and hula skirt.

We also visited with National March for Babies sponsors Kmart and Farmers Insurance.

The last day we were in Ohio, we had a radio interview on the Bill Wills radio show. My monkey Steven and I talked into the microphone a little but my mom and dad did most of the interview. Bill Wills’ son was born premature 18 years ago and was one of the first babies to receive surfactant therapy; the same drug that helped to save my life – all because of the March of Dimes.

